065

I’ve been in my current job for over 12 years and for all of that time I’ve been based in an office that was once an outdoor storage shed. It used to have bare brick walls and was impossible to heat. In the winter, even with the heater on full, I could see my breath when I exhaled. Then, about five years ago, my boss agreed to insulate and plaster it out and now it’s lovely and warm. It’s fair to say that I’ve had a love/hate relationship with it.

I work nine hour days excluding lunch, and as a conservative estimate I reckon I spend an average of seven of those hours in my office. Over the course of my employment that totals well over 20,000 hours, or 2.3 solid years. That’s almost a thirteenth of my entire life spent within those walls. Or, in yesterday’s terms:

lifetimeline

So, I thought, why not share it with you. Had that not been a self addressed rhetorical question, the answer may well have prevented me from doing so. Once again I am asking you to bear the brunt of my astonishing lack of quality control.

Sorry it’s so big but you wouldn’t be able to read it otherwise.

officetour

8 thoughts on “065

  1. Thanks for the tour, Graham, it was most enlightening. I looked up The Bloody Judge on IMDb, and it sounds like genius! Banned in Sweden, apparently…

  2. Oh Gavin, I thought I had a new reader! I’m not sure why after a post like this, but still. Perhaps I’ll watch The Bloody Judge and post a review.

  3. Nice office, I particularly like the chair, that must do wonders for the back!

    I don’t understand why your keyboard is so far away from your mouse…..

  4. Firstly, you are a very tidy person. I’m perplexed as to why your files are all skewy – the Graham I know would never allow this to be the case. WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH MY GRAHAM?!?!?!?!

    Secondly, while I don’t much like the girly calendar, I appreciate that failing to have one at a construction firm would render you “less of a man”. Or something…

    Lastly, I dare you to wear this t-shirt into work:

    http://t-shirts.cafepress.com/item/god-rainbow-sex-dark-tshirt/259959955

  5. Josh: Is my mouse position not normal? It’s about the same distance as I have at home.

    Ariane: You should have worn it on TV yesterday!

  6. Is it just me, or does the girl on that calendar look in desperate need of a good meal? No, i was not alluding to anything else.

    Having finally seen your workspace after all the years you’ve been at that company, all I can say is I’m surprised you haven’t developed claustrophobia, Graham.

  7. I have to say, I’m with Josh on this one. I’ve never seen a mouse separated from the keyboard by a printer. Not to mention the fact that it’s on another desk entirely. Then again, I hear Graham is extremely tall and probably has lenghty limbs to match. So maybe it needs to be that far away for arm extension reasons alone.

Leave a Reply

