107

signvan
Although I’m in no way qualified to do so, I often find myself critiquing companies’ design choices. I don’t mean the easy targets, such as the self-employed builders whose adverts are always in the Comic Sans font and produced with a word processor, but those of larger firms who don’t seem to grasp the importance of a good clean logo and/or suitable typeface. To their shoddy promotional material I offer a slight shake of the head and perhaps a soft, barely perceptible tut. It’s a nonchalant approach to criticism but so far it has served me well.

The worst offenders, though, are those firms whose sole purpose is to create a good impression for others and yet incredibly seem incapable of applying this to themselves. I’m frequently amazed at how many signage firms resemble my example above, which is by no means a wild exaggeration. It’s the equivalent of a printing firm sending out flyers that were produced on a desktop inkjet. I suppose they are run by people with the capital to invest in the right equipment without realising that is only half of the job. For these companies I reserve my most damning judgement – a full eyeball roll.

Finally, just in case it was bugging you, here’s the solution to yesterday’s teaser.

slidepuzzlesolution

4 thoughts on “107

  1. This just goes to show I know nothing about art & marketing, cos I thought the van looked quite neat! (Do I get a full eyeball roll for that, Graham?).

    Before reading the article, I actually thought this was going to be one of those rants against the inappropriate use of apostrophes!

  2. No Richard – that’s my department.

    The van definitely looks suitably hideous. It reminds me of a cv I received when recruiting for a copywriter: at the very top, in big letters, the applicant had typed “COPWRITER”.

  3. Richard, the van is awful! But then easily pleased clients are a good thing to have…

    I was going to do a post a while ago about someone who saw a fast food stall that had a sign saying CHIP’S. She goes to the counter and gives the young employee an earful about misplaced apostrophes. The employee shrugs and says it’s nothing to do with her. Realising that she is misdirecting her anger, the woman asks to speak to the proprietor. Certainly, the young girl says, then shouts: “Chip! This woman would like a word with you!”

    But then I thought it might be an old joke.

Leave a Reply

