132

timeout

9 thoughts on “132

  1. I like this. I often find myself drawn to the background of paintings and images, because you often get a different sense of texture and flamboyancy in terms of what is acceptable to the artist. This made me wonder where she is taking her time out because if it was the ‘ether’ I would expect more purity, but there is shade, depth and perspective. Perhaps it is just out of focus and I am overcomplicating things.

    The painted nails also make me think that she deserves a time out rather than just being lazy. She also seems to be catching her breath rather than slumping into exhaustion. So I think you have caught a lot in this picture and allowed a lot to be interpreted.

  2. I agree with Thom – shaved legs, painted nails, dyed hair and what look like false eyelashes! I can testify that this kind of feminine upkeep isn’t easy. She definitely deserves a rest.

  3. I like it. It looks like it could be a still from the “A Scanner Darkly” movie, it reminds me of that style.

  4. I saw this and thought ‘the comments are going to become a spontaneous caption competition’, but they haven’t. Are we all afraid of lowering the tone?

    Really like the pic, Graham! What did you paint it in?

  5. Thom, it’s not a specific setting. Sorry. I just thought the colours were nice. Glad you like it.

    Ariane, we can only hope that her suitors appreciate the effort.

    Richard, perhaps he will. Secretly.

    Hadleigh, that didn’t occur to me. I didn’t like that film at all but I wanted to.

    Matt, I’m sure no one is afraid of lowering the tone. So what’s your caption?

    It was painted in Photoshop.

  6. I thought it was Photoshop from the background, but I don’t think I’d have been able to tell from the actual figure. The colour on the flesh is more realistic for watercolour than I’ve seen from Photoshop before – it’s cool.

  7. I’d have only put something crude. The fact I was expecting everyone else to have done so before I read the comments just shows what a schoolboy I am.

    I think Graham’s next piece would make a very sophisticated caption for this painting.

    I have no good answer.

Leave a Reply

