165

pennywise
Okay, to make up for the Dulwich Pennywise Club’s miserly contribution I’m offering you a deal: I solemnly promise to donate £1 to Comic Relief for every person who leaves a comment on this post before the end of the day. To clarify, that’s £1 per individual rather than £1 per comment (this is to safeguard myself against bankruptcy at the hands of barriejohn). Don’t think of it as shameless comment seeking on my part, think of it as doing the right thing. I know there are plenty of people reading this who have never commented before so why not say hello and make a difference while you’re at it. The comment doesn’t have to be funny or long – in fact, simply saying ‘hi’ would be perfectly sufficient.

Okay, that’s all. I won’t badger you like this again, I promise.

12 thoughts on “165

  1. Oh no!! Not “repurposing” again!!! (Well, that`s a pound towards the cause anyway – it would be nice to see a few more comments on here in any case Graham.)

  2. Before I saw the “individual” disclaimer, I was going to turn I From N loose on you… still, I reckon you’ll be good for at least a tenner by the end of the day.

  3. Hi, not sure if I’ve commented before or not, but been following your blog for a few weeks now. I was / am intrigued by the concept of committing yourself to creating something new every day, and I admire what you’ve already done. You forced me out of lurksville with this one, even though I haven’t got a clue what the charity uses the money for. Lastly, hello from Australia, looking forward to seeing what else your mind has in it. Cheers!

  4. Graham, you will not suffer alone!

    I hereby promise to donate an equal sum to the amount you raise here, to the Atheist Bus Campaign.

    Speaking personally, and with due respect to the organisers, contributors and donors, I find most these telethons cringe-worthy. Particularly the Pudsey Bear type, where crippled children are wheeled onto the stage in an attempt to shame the nation into giving more to charity.

    Could not HM Gov’t just add 0.1p onto the basic rate of tax (ring-fenced, of course) to pay for things like hospices, MacMillan nurses, children’s day centres etc., rather than making these poor unfortunates take part in some sort of modern-day freak show?

    Am I the only one who feels this way?

    Rant over; as you were.

    Should you wish to write and complain to me about my mean-spirited, curmudgeonly attitude, please send post to:

    Dunroamin,
    Under-the-Cistern,
    No 3, The Cubicles,
    Victoria Station (West),
    London

  5. Great stuff & a lovely gesture!

    And there was me thinking that today’s post would involve the Griblets’ doing The Full Monty in aid of Comic Relief…

    Almost as good as me once participating in a sponsored Womble Hunt on Wimbledon Common as a child (nowadays you’d never get away with arranging for primary school kids to chase men dressed as Toblermory & Orinoco round King’s Mere & be given a sweetie upon catching them).

  6. Wow, they’re a generous bunch in Dulwich! I realise I’ve missed the commenting deadline, so I’ve just made a donation anyway. Jeanette’s Womble hunt sounds novel, but it does bring to mind the image of Great Uncle Bulgaria scampering away from a sniper.

Leave a Reply

